Colleges.-The 85 colleges may be roughly classified as five agricultural, two technical, one commercial, one pharmaceutical, one veterinary, one military, two law, 35 theological, together with 38 other affiliated colleges, including 32 classical colleges, little seminaries and independent non-subsidized classical schools in Quebec.¹ The classification of the 85 colleges actually listed is somewhat approximate, for the reason that a large number of theological and other colleges offer courses in arts or preparatory courses. Macdonald College, for example, might be classified as both agricultural and affiliated, or it might be excluded from the list of colleges and regarded as a faculty of McGill University. It is included above among the agricultural colleges, which include the Nova Scotia Agricultural College, Macdonald, Oka and Ste. Anne de la Pocatière in Quebec, and Ontario Agricultural College. The technical college is the Nova Scotia Technical College. The law schools are the Ontario Law School (Osgoode Hall), in Toronto, and the Manitoba Law School. The veterinary and pharmaceutical colleges are in Ontario. The theological colleges are:-Collège Ste. Anne and the Holy Heart College, in Nova Scotia; Collège du Sacré Cœur, in New Brunswick; the Presbyterian College, the Montreal Diocesan, the United Theological and 11 Catholic Theological Colleges, in Quebec; Knox, Union Theological, Toronto Bible, Evangelical Lutheran, Huron and Wycliffe, in Ontario; Manitoba College and St. John's, in Manitoba; St. Chad's, St. Andrew's and Emmanuel, in Saskatchewan; St. Stephen's, Lutheran Seminary, St. Aidan's and St. Joseph's Colleges, in Alberta; and the Anglican and Columbian Theological Colleges, in British Columbia. The affiliated colleges for arts, etc., are:-St. Mary's, in Nova Scotia: the 32 classical colleges, little seminaries and independent secondary institutions, in Quebec; St. Michael's, Waterloo and St. Jerome's, in Ontario; Brandon and Wesley, in Manitoba; and Edmonton Jesuit, in Alberta. The miscellaneous colleges are Ecole des Hautes Etudes Commerciales, in Quebec, and the Royal Military College in Ontario. The Edmonton Jesuit College is a classical college and is "associated" with Laval University, but the 22 classical colleges above mentioned are all situated in Quebec and "affiliated" or "annexed" to the Catholic universities. An "affiliated" college in Quebec means a college of which the university has direct control of the courses and degrees; an "annexed" college is one of which the university merely approves the curriculum and by-laws, is represented at the examinations and sanctions the diplomas awarded; an "associated" college is an affiliated college situated outside the province. St. Dunstan's

¹Certain other institutions incorporated with the Universities of Montreal and Laval are sometimes known separately as colleges; for example, the Polytechnic School affiliated with Montreal; 2 institutes of modern secondary education, 1 affiliated with Montreal and 1 with Laval; 30 convents and 5 household science schools; 17 convents and 3 household science schools affiliated with Montreal and the remainder with Laval; 2 Institutes of Modern Secondary Education, one affiliated with Montreal and one with Laval, All these are affiliated for arts only and contribute to the registration in arts of the 2 universities as seen in Table 17. Mention should also be made of 2 schools of fine arts, 1 in Montreal and 1 in Quebec, and 7 technical schools. The enrolments of the schools of fine arts and of the technical schools are included in the vocational schools in Table 19, but the students in their four-year day courses might logically be included with the registration of the other colleges and are actually included in item 11 of Table 1 of this chapter 71120-583